Religious Orders in Scotland
ca 1560

On the eve of the
Reformation the religious houses of Scotland were represented by :

Four houses of Benedictine monks – Coldingham,
Dunfermline, Iona and Pluscarden.

Two houses of Cluniac monks – Crossraguel and

Five houses of Tironensian monks – Arbroath,
Kelso, Kilwinning, Lesmahagow, and Lindores.

Eleven houses of Cistercian monks – Balmerino,
Beauly (originally Valliscaulian), Coupar, Angus, Culross, Deer, Dundrennan,
Glenluce, Kinloss, Melrose, Newbattle, and Sweetheart or New Abbey.

One house of Valliscaulian monks at

A Carthusian priory at Perth.

Seventeen houses of  Augustinian canons
– Blantyre, Cambuskenneth, Canonbie, Holyroodhouse, Inchaffray, Inchcolm,
Inchmahome, Jedburgh, Loch Leven or Portmoak, Monymusk, Oronsay, Pittenweem
( with May), Restenneth, St Andrews Isle or Trail, Scone,  and

Six houses of Premonstratensian canons –
Druburgh, Fearn, Holywood, Soulseat, Tongland, and Whithorn.

Four  Trinitarian houses – Aberdeen,
Fail, Peebles, and Scotlandwell.

A preceptory of the Knights of St John of
Jerusalem at Torphichen.

Seven Cistersian nunneries – Coldstream,
Eccles, Elcho, Haddington, Manuel,  North Berwick, and St Bathans or
Abbey St Bathans.

St Augustine nunnery at Iona.

A house of Dominican nuns  – Sciennes
priory near Edinburgh.

Two Franciscan nunneries at Aberdour, and

Thirteen Dominican friaries  – Aberdeen,
Ayr, Dundee, Edinburgh, Elgin, Glasgow, Inverness, Montrose, Perth, St
Andrews, St Monance, Stirling, and Wigtown.

Five Franciscan houses of Friars Minor, 
Dumfries, Dundee, Haddington, Kirkcudbright , and Lanark.

Eight Observant Friaries – Aberdeen, Ayr,
Edinburgh, Elgin, Glasgow, Perth, St Andrews, and Stirling.

Ten Carmelite  houses – Aberdeen, Banff,
Edinburgh, Inverbervie, Irvine, Kingussie, Linlithgow, Luffness, 
Queensferry, and Tullilum.